Amelia Reviews: Release Me by J. Kenner

The Synopsis:

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms. 

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist. 

Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.
But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

 

My Review:

Release Me is the first installment of the Stark Trilogy, it’s also one of those books that will inevitably be compared to Fifty Shades of Grey, which is really going to deter as many readers as it attracts, but trust me when I say you should really give this book a chance because despite it’s similarity with FSOG, Release Me has it’s own charm. And although there are countless books out there focusing on the same or similar theme, I think what makes this one stand out is the writing. J Kenner is a really good author, while initially I though this book was a bit slow to get into, once I did I couldn’t put the book down. Release Me is the beginning of a beautiful relationship between Nikki and Damien.

Nikki Fairchild is a former pageant queen, computer genius and a determined woman. That’s all the things that she lets other people see. She’s had a horrible childhood and a lot of traumas; she cut herself to cope with those things and she doesn’t let anyone see her vulnerable. Her character is very interesting and felt real to me, as a reader I can understand Nikki’s insecurities, this is one out of many things where I can see that J. Kenner is a good writer. She met Damien at a party when she looks for a potential investor for her boss. At first she’s holding herself back from Damien, because she’s not quite ready for him to find out the dark secrets in her past and she’s not prepared to let her world be turned upside down by this powerful, domineering man.

Damien Stark is former professional tennis player who gave up the game a long time ago and he is now a successful entrepreneur and investor. Mr. Stark is also insanely hot, smart and confident; but has a very demanding and possessive demeanor. He has his own past that is haunting him. We can see from the beginning that he cared very deeply about Nikki. The way he helped her fight her demons was just so sweet and beautiful. 

These two people make sense together, they belong together, they want and need each other, more importantly they deserve each other. Their personalities compliment each other. As I reader I can really feel the depth of their feeling. I like the fact that even though Nikki was affected by Damien, she can manage to stay true to herself and didn’t submit easily. 

Though this book has it’s flaws, as I mention before the beginning is a bit slow, it never bothered me much. I love the story and I enjoyed reading it. This is one of those series that got me all excited to read the next installment because I’m curious about what’s going to happen next with the characters, what secrets they will reveal and how they face their problems. highly recommend this book to people who are into hot, domineering, possessive billionaire and BDSM theme.

 

 

Favorite quotes:

“Everyone breaks a little sometimes. That doesn’t make you weak. It makes you wounded. And I will always be there to help you heal” 

 

“I’d forgotten the depth of my own weakness, and it’s never safe to think that you’re stronger than you are.” 

 

“No, Damien Stark is just one of those dark, quiet types. He’s like an iceberg, Texas. The deep parts are well hidden and what you do see is hard and a little bit cold.” 

 

“I like Damien Stark. He’s not what I expected, but there’s something compelling about him— and it’s more than just the fact that he’s hotter than sin and got me worked up into quite a lather. He seems perfectly comfortable in his own skin.” 

 

“I am smart,Nikki,” he says. “I’m smart enough to know that you feel it,too.This isn’t just heat,it’s a goddamned conflagration.Not chemistry,but nuclear fission.” 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s