Katiebird Reviews Gilded Cage by Vic James

gilded-cage-by-vic-james

 

Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts book 1) by Vic James

A darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule, and commoners are doomed to serve—for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Susanna Clarke.

NOT ALL ARE FREE.
NOT ALL ARE EQUAL.
NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED.

Our world belongs to the Equals—aristocrats with magical gifts—and all commoners must serve them for ten years.

But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.

A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.

Abi is a servant to England’s most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of their noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family’s secrets might win her liberty—but will her heart pay the price?

A boy dreams of revolution.

Abi’s brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.

And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.

He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

Man, oh man. This is going to be a great series! I was completely hooked from the prologue.

Continue reading

Book Beginnings on Fridays…

Rose City Reader hosts

 

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a meme hosted by Rose City Reader. A couple of Fridays a month, I will share the first sentence (or so) of the book I am currently reading, along with my initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

A Brightest Kind of Darkness series by P.T. Michelle is a series that I have loved for years. The last book, Awaken, was recently released, and I am so excited, that I wanted to share the opening paragraph…

Continue reading

Katiebird Reviews Breath of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

breath-of-fire-cover

Breath of Fire (Kingmakers Chronicles) by Amanda Bouchet

SHE’S DESTINED TO DESTROY THE WORLD…
“Cat” Catalia Fisa has been running from her destiny since she could crawl. But now, her newfound loved ones are caught between the shadow of Cat’s tortured past and the threat of her world-shattering future. So what’s a girl to do when she knows it’s her fate to be the harbinger of doom? Everything in her power.

BUT NOT IF SHE CAN HELP IT
Griffin knows Cat is destined to change the world-for the better. As the realms are descending into all-out war, Cat and Griffin must embrace their fate together. Gods willing, they will emerge side-by-side in the heart of their future kingdom…or not at all.

So many things to love about this series! When I finished this book, I literally didn’t know what I could possibly read next…

Continue reading

Katiebird’s Most Anticipated Books for 2017

 

reading-image

Wow! Is it really the end of 2016? So much reading to do. So little time…

Continue reading

Katiebird’s Favorite Books for 2016

Zombie 1 SA

When I reviewed all of the books that I read this past year, I read way more than I thought I had. Some of my favorite authors made the list of course, but there are some new and surprising ones on there as well!

Continue reading

Katiebird Reviews The Roman by Sylvain Reynard

the-roman-by-sylvain-reynard

The Roman by Sylvain Reynard

Raven and her sister, Cara, are at the mercy of a small detachment of Florentine vampyres, who are delivering them as a peace offering to the feared Curia in Rome. Though she s unsure William survived the coup that toppled his principality, Raven is determined to protect her sister at all costs, even if it means challenging Borek, the commander of the detachment.

In an effort to keep Raven from falling into the hands of his enemies, William puts himself at the mercy of the Roman, the dangerous and mysterious vampyre king of Italy. But the Roman is not what he expects . Alliances and enmities will shift and merge as William struggles to save the woman he loves and his principality, without plunging the vampyre population into a world war.

This stunning conclusion to the Florentine series will take readers across Italy and beyond as the lovers fight to remain together. Forever.

What an intense and wonderful conclusion to a beautifully written series.

Continue reading

Katiebird Reviews Split by JB Salsbury

split-cover

Split by JB Salsbury

After her career goes sour, Shyann finds herself jobless, penniless, and packing for her hometown–where unwanted memories await.

Lucas needs the quiet life. And that’s exactly what he’s found in Payson, Arizona. For the first time in his life, he finally feels like his mind is in check. Lucas has suffered from blackouts since he was a child. He knows he’s not like other guys.

But when Lucas meets his boss’s daughter, her probing eyes and personal questions pick away at his barriers. Shyann is everything he should never have…everything he wants. And soon the blackouts return. The last thing he wants is to expose how dangerous he can be–but he’s helpless, and it could cost him Shyann.

This book was such a surprise to me! So very different from anything I’ve read before. I’m going to share my thoughts without giving too much away…

Continue reading