Katiebird Reviews Gilded Cage by Vic James

gilded-cage-by-vic-james

 

Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts book 1) by Vic James

A darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule, and commoners are doomed to serve—for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Susanna Clarke.

NOT ALL ARE FREE.
NOT ALL ARE EQUAL.
NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED.

Our world belongs to the Equals—aristocrats with magical gifts—and all commoners must serve them for ten years.

But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.

A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.

Abi is a servant to England’s most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of their noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family’s secrets might win her liberty—but will her heart pay the price?

A boy dreams of revolution.

Abi’s brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.

And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.

He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

Man, oh man. This is going to be a great series! I was completely hooked from the prologue.

Continue reading

Book Beginnings on Fridays…

Rose City Reader hosts

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a meme hosted by Rose City Reader. A couple of Fridays a month, I will share the first sentence (or so) of the book I am currently reading, along with my initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

I started a new book this week that was recommended by a coworker. When he saw me reading at lunch all of time, he asked if he could recommend something to me. I am always up that!! If you love dystopian stories like Under the Never Sky or The Host, this book is perfect!

Continue reading

Katiebird reviews Fallen and Under the Never Sky

So being the resident paranormal romance girl, it’s me again reviewing two amazing Young Adult books that I loved. Both books are the first ones in their series, so if you are looking start a new series this summer, I would highly recommend these books!

Good news both series are complete, so there is no waiting to finish!!

 

Continue reading

Stacking The Shelves…

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Continue reading

Katiebird reviews two favorite YA books from this year

Young Adult books are not always what you think they will be. I struggle sometimes with reading the genre, because there is this stigma that I shouldn’t be reading it. I mean, marketing tells me that it’s for people much younger than me, but it’s written by people who are my age, so…

I get that the genre of Young Adult means that the main characters are “young adults”, not that it is technically written for them specifically. When I start a book that is young adult, I know that it might not have all of the intimate scenes that New Adult books do, but that doesn’t mean that it is not going to be an amazing book.

I recently read two incredible YA books, that I want to share with everyone. If you are not sure that YA books are for you, please put your misconceptions aside, and read these books. You won’t regret it…

Continue reading

Katiebird reviews Her Favorite book series of 2014

As we get closer to the end of the year, I like to take the time to look back at all of the amazing books I’ve read, in preparation for our Best of the Year lists. We take those lists seriously here at BT, by the way. 🙂

Three of my favorite book series came to an end this year, and I don’t want to miss out on sharing my thoughts on the final books and the series themselves. If you’ve read my profile at the bottom of my posts, you probably noticed that I am the resident paranormal romance girl here, both YA and New Adult. This is definitely my favorite genre, so it should come as no surprise that I love these books!

 

Continue reading

Katiebird reviews After the Ending by Lindsey Pogue and Lindsey Fairleigh

After the Ending (Book 1) by Lindsey Fairleigh and Lindsey Pogue

After the ending cover

 

THE FIRST BOOK IN THE EMOTIONALLY CHARGED POST-APOCALYPTIC ROMANCE SERIES, The Ending.

The Virus spread. Billions died. The Ending began. We may have survived the apocalypse, but the Virus changed us.

When people started getting sick, “they” thought it was just the flu. My roommate, my boyfriend, my family…they’re all gone now. I got sick too. I should have died with them—with the rest of the world—but I didn’t. I thought witnessing the human population almost disappear off the face of the earth was the craziest thing I’d ever experience. I was so wrong. My name is Dani O’Connor, and I survived The Ending.

The Virus changed everything. The world I knew is gone, and life is backwards. We’ve all had to start over. I’ve been stripped of my home, my dreams…all that is me. I’m someone else now—broken and changed. Other survivors’ memories and emotions haunt me. They invade my mind until I can no longer separate them from my own. I won’t let them consume me. I can’t. My name is Zoe Cartwright, and I survived The Ending.

We’ve been inseparable for most of our lives, and now our friendship is all we have left. The aftermath of the Virus has stranded us on opposite sides of the United States. Trusting strangers, making sacrifices, killing—we’ll do anything to reach one another. Fear and pain may be unavoidable, but we’re strong…we’re survivors. But to continue surviving in this unfamiliar world plagued by Crazies and strange new abilities, we have to adapt. We have to evolve.

And more than anything, we have to find each other.

 

Continue reading