Katiebird Reviews Gilded Cage by Vic James

gilded-cage-by-vic-james

 

Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts book 1) by Vic James

A darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule, and commoners are doomed to serve—for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Susanna Clarke.

NOT ALL ARE FREE.
NOT ALL ARE EQUAL.
NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED.

Our world belongs to the Equals—aristocrats with magical gifts—and all commoners must serve them for ten years.

But behind the gates of England’s grandest estate lies a power that could break the world.

A girl thirsts for love and knowledge.

Abi is a servant to England’s most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of their noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family’s secrets might win her liberty—but will her heart pay the price?

A boy dreams of revolution.

Abi’s brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution.

And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts.

He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate—or destroy?

Man, oh man. This is going to be a great series! I was completely hooked from the prologue.

Continue reading

Book Beginnings on Fridays…

Rose City Reader hosts

 

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a meme hosted by Rose City Reader. A couple of Fridays a month, I will share the first sentence (or so) of the book I am currently reading, along with my initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.

A Brightest Kind of Darkness series by P.T. Michelle is a series that I have loved for years. The last book, Awaken, was recently released, and I am so excited, that I wanted to share the opening paragraph…

Continue reading

Cover Reveal: BLACK TIE OPTIONAL by Ann Marie Walker!

cover reveal

I’m so excited to reveal the cover of Ann Marie Walker’s BLACK TIE OPTIONAL! In this new romantic comedy by the co-author of the Chasing Fire series, a wild night in Vegas for a joint Bachelorette/Bachelor party sees two enemies turn into lovers. 

synopsis

Everything about Coleman Grant III oozes power and sex. And not the perfunctory kind either, but the sheet clawing, heart stopping, gasping for air after you’ve screamed so loud you can’t breathe kind. From his dark wavy hair that stands in an artfully rumpled mess, to the blue eyes that sear your skin, to his full, sensual lips – on the surface he’s pure perfection.

Too bad he’s an asshole. An arrogant, uptight corporate raider hell bent on destroying the environment one species at a time. 

Everything about Olivia Ramsey screams hippie humanitarian. From her blond hair tied in a sloppy bun, to her faded jeans with the Bonnaroo patch sewn on the thigh, to her combat boots still splattered with mud from the previous day’s site visit.

So it makes perfect sense that they would get married. In Vegas. Stone-cold sober.

Cole needs a wife. Olivia needs to save an endangered species. But what starts as a marriage of convenience soon turns into a battle of wills and sexual tension. Love is a game, and Olivia and Cole are ready to win.

Continue reading

#OfficialFifty Fan Giveaway! #FiftyShadesDarker

giveaway

Hey Fifty fans!

We have a great giveaway for you to enter courtesy of Universal Pictures.

Continue reading